Jane Eyre

It’s my favorite book of all time.  And this past weekend I saw the new movie version.  At first I was reticent, as I was when Peter Jackson directed The Lord of The Rings films.  I used to think it a fool’s errand to try and translate a written masterpiece into film.  But as I was wrong about LOTR, so was I about THIS VERSION of Jane Eyre.  They got it…at least I think it’s the best they could have done for a movie.  I wouldn’t change a thing.  Some elements were lost, as expected (I missed the visiting “witch” scene), but the spirit of the story is more than intact.  It’s one and the same.  Go out and see it if you still can!  Or get it on Netflix.  Now.  Yes, I mean RIGHT NOW.  Do it.  You won’t regret it, unless you’re not a Bronte fan…and if that’s the case, well then I can no longer call you friend.  Just kidding.  Not really.

 

One of my favorite quotes from the book:

“Do you think, because I am poor, obscure, plain and little, I am soulless and heartless?  You think wrong!–I have as much soul as you, –and full as much heart!  And if God had gifted me with some beauty, and much wealth, I should have made it as hard for you to leave me, as it is now for me to leave you.  I am not talking to you now through the medium of custom, conventionalities, or even of mortal flesh:– it is my spirit that addresses your spirit; just as if both had passed through the grave, and we stood at God’s feet, equal, –as we are!” -Charlotte Bronte


2 thoughts on “Jane Eyre

  1. What a powerful quote you recaptured for me. It eluded me during the movie like a strong flame blown out quickly by the wind from the moor through the window. Having never read the book and become a disciple, I am now drawn by the power and poetry of Bronte’s written words from Jane’s lips — full of passion, spirit-filled imagery, and disarmingly transparent truth-speaking. It shakes one to the core.

  2. I think you would love the book Dad…yes, full of moors and rich words spoken and felt. Mmm….YOUR WORDS shake one to the core. Seriously, you should start your own blog! Well, maybe wait ’till after you take a few other pans off your very busy stove.

Leave a comment