One New Thing for 2016

New Year’s Resolutions. Though many fade away by February, I love how some people continue to make them every year and give it their all. I’m joining the club!

This year I am going to try and give God 1.5-2 hours a day. I know this won’t be possible everyday, and I may not reach 2017 with much success at this. But it will be my main mission. Why, you ask? Well, one of my favorite bloggers, The Peaceful Wife, wrote this and I don’t think I can explain it better than her:

“I must very consciously set aside time for God and seek to make Him my priority. I need a minimum of about 30 minutes, but I do much better if I have 1.5 -2 hours per day with God. I want to seek many more of the 1.5-2 hour times this year.

I have to have that time with Him alone where I sit at His feet, allow Him to restore my spirit, and drink Him in. I must have time to recharge, to praise Him, to thank Him, to seek Him, to get to know Him more, to desire Him above all else, and to be filled with His Spirit.

If I attempt to minister when I am spiritually depleted and I am operating in my own strength, I will not be a blessing to anyone – and I may actually hurt other people more than help them.” -The Peaceful Wife: April Cassidy

quiet time bibleI admit, I feel anxious in sharing this resolution because of possible judgments made by you, beloveds. I know it’s silly, but I fear you thinking I’m not busy enough, not working hard enough in life if I have 1.5-2 hours free to spend with God. I want to explain myself, but I’m painstakingly going to resist because another sub-goal/resolution of mine is to fear people less and fear God more. So with that, beloveds, know that I love you and I am thankful for you! And feel free to keep me accountable with this resolution…I need all the help I can get!

10 thoughts on “One New Thing for 2016

  1. I believe, from experience and the promises of God, you will be immensely blessed through this. I agree with the Peaceful Wife. What works best for me is to set my alarm 2 hours ahead of when I need to get ready for the day’s work; In time this will become part of your routine, and seem easier. May the Lord bless your desire to draw closer to him!

  2. You couldn’t seek a higher goal! Will be praying for you and for myself as well to build more time to focus on HIM into my morning. I agree with Susie Donnelly that having something become part of one’s routine is far better than a resolution. In His Grace, Marmie

    1. What I meant to say…was not to criticize making a resolution…but rather that planning and incorporating routines into our day, and with God’s help and grace, makes our goals and resolutions more possible.

  3. When people are big, God is small so please do not be afraid to share your heart with us here. Thanks for challenging and inspiring me dear friend!

  4. What a wonderful worthwhile goal/resolution, call it what you will. Spending more time with Him is the best thing that you can do at the expense of anything else on your schedule . I remember a pastor once told the congregation ” you don’t have time for God, you MAKE time for God. ” You inspire me to spend more time seeking Him. Thanks, little one.

  5. Lisbeth, as you likely know, I am not a very religious person. And yet it would *never* occur to me to think it trivial or indicative of idleness for you to set aside a good chunk of time every day for something so clearly central to your life and your self and your sense of rightness. I’m glad you recognize that you don’t need anyone’s approval for this, but I’d like you to know that, at least from me, you have it in SPADES. Good luck in your efforts!

  6. More of him and less of me! That message has been coming to me loud and clear. Connect to God, disconnect from the world. I am trying to do the same thing, I don’t imagine I can achieve an hour and a half but I’m going to make it a point to do better, much better than I have been doing. Love you! This was a nice confirmation and reminder for me.

  7. Lisbeth,
    May the God who created this desire in you give you peace as you seek to know Him more and be restored and refreshed in the process for His work.
    Sitting at His feet. Now that’s a place I need to be at more often rather than running by.
    Love,
    Dad

Leave a Reply

