“i thank You God for most this amazing” by e.e. cummings

i thank You God for most this amazing
day:for the leaping greenly spirits of trees
and a blue true dream of sky; and for everything
which is natural which is infinite which is yes

(i who have died am alive again today,
and this is the sun’s birthday; this is the birth
day of life and of love and wings: and of the gay
great happening illimitably earth)

how should tasting touching hearing seeing
breathing any–lifted from the no
of all nothing–human merely being
doubt unimaginable You?

(now the ears of my ears awake and
now the eyes of my eyes are opened)

– e.e. cummings
1894-1962

9 thoughts on ““i thank You God for most this amazing” by e.e. cummings

  1. One of my favorite poems of all time! I recited this in Workout Chapel my junior (or senior?) year. And then at Canal, I chose the concluding couplet as my favorite lines of poetry to hang on the school walls in preparation for Poetry Out Loud. Thanks for bringing it to mind today!

    1. Wow, I never knew that sis! After posting this I’ve learned many of my beloveds have held this poem dearly in their hearts. Hmm…I don’t think I heard you recite that poem in Chapel…I wish I had though!

      1. Yes, he does sort of catch us off guard. Could he have been referencing in some way Matt. 13:13 in that last couplet? This is why I (Jesus) speak to them in parables: “Though seeing, they do not see; though hearing, they do not hear or understand.”

  2. Thanks for reminding me of e.e. cummings–one of my favorite poets as a child of the 60’s and 70’s; even though he was a Unitarian, I wonder if he didn’t have a real and deep relationship with the God of the Bible. He served in WWI and fell in love with Paris…I like how he changes grammar and punctuation around (as a result of learning French?) and really makes one think about things differently. I didn’t realize this poem has been key in Lauren’s teaching and education as well.

    1. Ooh fascinating background information about him, Mama. And I’ve loved hearing your connection with him too (and Lauren’s and Jenna’s)!!! It does seem that he valued God’s creation, which is no small thing! I hope he worshipped the Creator, too. Wow, what a colorful life he led, war, love in Paris, poetry…thanks for pointing out the funky grammar too..it does sort of catch us off guard (shakes us up)!

Leave a Reply

