The Good Samaritan and Abortion

In my New Testament for Ministry class yesterday the professor shared some key points about this well-known parable I had never noticed before and a powerful application. You can read the parable in Luke 10:25-37 here.

The lawyer asks, “Who is my neighbor?” Basically implying that he wants to know the minimum requirement involved in loving one’s neighbor. But after we read the parable, we see Jesus has changed the question completely. It’s not “Who is my neighbor?” but rather, “Who can I be a neighbor to?”

Richard Hays speaks of this call to love everyone around us in regards to abortion: “The issue is not whether unborn children are our neighbors, but will we be a neighbor to them?” Hays says, “Jesus, by answering the lawyer’s question with this parable, rejects casuistic attempts to circumscribe our moral concern by defining the other as belonging to a category outside the scope of our obligation.”

Lord have mercy on me, and help me to love everyone as my neighbor. Sweet Father, help us to fervently seek out ways to love across divisive boundaries, including the one of inside/outside the womb.

3 thoughts on “The Good Samaritan and Abortion

  1. I love how Jesus is always turning things upside-down. And breaking boundaries. Also, I feel like he has been challenging me a lot lately to love those who are difficult to love…so this is particularly poignant. Thanks for this thought provoker today, sis.

  2. I never thought about this parable in relation to abortion, but I love how scripture applies to so many different situations and life experiences. For me, it’s the mentally ill and difficult people in my life that God is calling me to be a neighbor to…as He has been a neighbor to a difficult person like me.

    I’ve heard that some believe we are the InnKeepers, tending (being a neighbor to) those whom Jesus brings to us to care for…giving us resources to care for them and promising to return!

  3. Lisbeth,
    Thanks for helping me to realize that I need to look more in the ditch alongside the road each day–the opposite of our initial driving lesson instructions to keep our eyes on the road!
    Love,
    Dad

Leave a Reply

