Jeremiah Homework

My homework this week is to read the book of Jeremiah in one sitting. It’s important to know that Jeremiah is the LONGEST book in the entire Bible. It was quite the endeavor…we’re talking hours, folks. And quite a lot of chocolate to go with it. Also, I couldn’t do it in one sitting. After 5.5 hours, I decided to call it a day and finish it later. There is so much repetition and the oracles of doom can be quite depressing. And yet the overarching theme of God’s countless gracious calls to repentance makes a mark. He is so inhumanly patient. I was surprised by how many well-known passages are from Jeremiah. I could not include ’em all, but here are some of my favorites:

“Stand at the crossroads and look; ask for the ancient paths, ask where the good way is, and walk in it, and you will find rest for your souls.” Jer. 6:16

“They pour out drink offerings to other gods to provoke me to anger. But am I the one they are provoking?” declares the Lord. “Are they not rather harming themselves, to their own shame?” Jer. 7:18b-19

“Let not the wise man boast of his wisdom or the strong man boast of his strength or the rich man boast of his riches, but let him who boasts boast about this: that he understands and knows me, that I am the Lord who exercises kindness, justice and righteousness on earth, for in these I delight,” declares the Lord.” Jer. 9:23-25

“This is what the Lord says: “As for all my wicked neighbors who seize the inheritance I gave my people Israel, I will uproot them from their lands and I will uproot the house of Judah from among them. But after I uproot them, I will again have compassion and will bring each of them back to his own inheritance and his own country. And if they learn well the ways of my people and swear by my name, saying, ‘As surely as the Lord lives–even as they once taught my people to swear by Baal–then they will be established among my people.'” Jer. 12:14-16

Basically all of Jeremiah 17.

“”The days are coming,” declares the Lord, “when I will raise up to David a righteous Branch, a King who will reign wisely and do what is just and right in the land. In his days Judah will be saved and Israel will live in safety. This is the name by which he will be called: The Lord Our Righteousness.”” Jer. 23:5-6

“Is not my word like fire,” declares the Lord, “and like a hammer that breaks a rock in pieces?” Jer. 23:30

Here’s a painting by Rembrandt of our “weeping prophet.”

Image
Jeremiah Lamenting the Destruction of Jerusalem

“Then you will call upon me and pray to me, and I will listen to you. You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart. I will be found by you,” declares the Lord,” and will bring you back from captivity.” Jer. 29:12-14b

“I will put my law in their minds and write it on their hearts. I will be their God, and they will be my people. No longer will a man teach his neighbor, or a man his brother saying, “Know the Lord,” because they will all know me, from the least of them to the greatest,” declares the Lord. “For I will forgive their wickedness and will remember their sins no more.” Jer. 31:33

Chapter 35- Let’s be like the Recabites!

Ebed-Melech, the Cushite…I love him! Read of what he did in Chapter 38, and how he was rewarded in Chapter 39.

“This is what the Lord Almighty says: The people of Israel are oppressed, and the people of Judah as well. All their captors hold them fast, refusing to let them go. Yet their Redeemer is strong; the Lord almighty is his name. He will vigorously defend their cause so that he may bring rest to their land, but unrest to those who live in Babylon” (Jer. 50: 33-35).

9 thoughts on “Jeremiah Homework

  1. It looks like you got pretty far. Thanks for sharing the scriptures. I’ve read it several times, but never thought to stop and collect a list of favs. By the way, I like your photo here with eyes looking to the side, it’s intriguing like the Mona Lisa. What are you thinking about? (that’s rhetorical)

  2. Thanks for sharing your experience reading Jeremiah in 2 sittings and then posting favorite passages.

    I may share some of mine with you when I finish.

    This is the firsts time I’ve really studied Jeremiah in my quiet time.

    Love that painting of him…looking forward to meeting him in heaven one day when the Lord will wipe away all of our tears, including Jeremiah’s!

    1. Would love to know some of your faves, Mom! Do share ’em! I look forward to meeting him, too. An extra thought after this week’s lecture: The gospel writers pattern their writings of Jesus himself after Jeremiah…Jeremiah lived a suffering life as Jesus lived!

      1. One thing I’m struggling with recently: the Lord’s grace and the story of the sheep and goats which seems to be legalist (earning God’s favor). Any thoughts folks? (By the way, i fixed my link to my website this time)

        1. Henry, my ESV Study Bible notes explain it pretty well, so I’ll include them here for you to ponder:
          “The blessing to the “sheep” consists of their inheritance of the Father’s kingdom, given not as a reward for good works but because of their saving relationship with the Father and the Son….the righteous will inherit the kingdom NOT BECAUSE OF the compassionate works that they have done but because their righteousness comes from their transformed hearts in response to Jesus’ proclamation of the kingdom, as evidenced by their compassion for “the least of these.” In caring for those in need, the righteous discover that their acts of compassion for the needy are the same as if done for Jesus himself.”

      2. Wow! Never knew that about the gospel writers. Thanks for sharing it.
        So here are some of my favorite sections (some overlap with yours) up to Chap. 32 where I am now.

        Jeremiah 2:13,14-My people have committed two sins: They have forsaken me, the spring of living water, and dug their own cisterns, broken cisterns that cannot hold water. (People–myself at times–are putting their trust in so many broken cisterns these days).

        4:3–break up your unplowed ground and do not sow among thorns
        4:4–circumcise your hearts

        6:16–like you noted, was one of my favorites

        7:3–reform your ways…7:6–if you do not oppress the alien, the fatherless or the widow and do not shed innocent blood..23–obey me and I will be your God, and you will be my people. Walk in all the ways I command you that it will go well with you.

        8:22–Is there no balm in Gilead? Is there no physician there? Why is there no healing for the wound of my people?

        10:20–my tent is destroyed and all my ropes are snapped (this one reminded me of the birds eating our tent-house ropes! haha)

        10:24–correct me, Lord, but only with justice

        Love that passage from Jeremiah 12 that you posted.

        16:19–O Lord, my strength and my fortress, my refuge in time of distress…

        Yes, 17 is great! esp. about keeping the Sabbath

        18:6-8: Like clay in the hand of the potter, so are you in my hand.

        23:4 I will place shepherds over them….29:-the part about “is not my word like a fire…and like a hammer that breaks the rock in pieces?” is used for a part of Elijah in the Mendelssohn’s Elijah–one of my all time FAVORITE oratorios..”.It is not agreed how Mendelssohn’s own view of the Biblical text may have been shaped by his personal history (born into a Jewish family, he was brought up without religion until his baptism as a Lutheran at age seven), though many scholars have speculated about this. Some draw parallels between the lives of Elijah and Jesus in the final section of the oratorio.” (Wikipedia)

        28:15-17–about false prophets. I pray I NEVER would be one.

        29:11-12: I know the plans I have for you,declares the Lord, plans to prosper you and not to harm you. (am I taking this out of context as one of my fav verses?)

        31:3–I have loved you with an everlasting love…I will build you up again.
        Well, so many. Maybe I’ll add a few more when I’m done!
        Back to reading Jeremiah!

  3. Wow, what a cool assignment! And I had no idea Jeremiah was the longest book; longer than the Psalms? As I told you in a text, I read this aloud in the car earlier to Mark. Jer 6:16 felt particularly poignant for us. Thanks for pulling out these gems of scripture for us to feast on!

    1. I also thought Psalms was the longest…turns out it has more chapters, but Jeremiah has the most words in any book of the Bible. ‘Twas powerful to see the grand scope of Jeremiah’s life. I love that you and Mark feasted on these scripture verses together. That blesses me a lot!! The one on the “ancient paths” hits somewhere deep in my soul. It feel similar to how I feel when I read the Lord of the Rings.

Leave a Reply

