Props to Dustin Hoffman

7 thoughts on “Props to Dustin Hoffman

  1. Chills. Props indeed. What humility for him to recognize how he had missed out as a result of his own prejudice and societal “brainwashing.”

    I’m reminded of the words of Atticus Finch from the classic Harper Lee novel, To Kill a Mockingbird: “You never really understand a person until you consider things from his point of view – until you climb into his skin and walk around in it.”

    Makes me wonder, who are the interesting people that I am missing out on knowing because of my unfounded bias against them? And how can I climb into their skin?

    1. Wow, thanks for sharing that “To Kill A Mockingbird” quote, sis! The words climb into, and walking around in it, are so jarring (in a good way). This brings me back round to thinking of humility. Not assuming I know a person based on a first impression. Expecting to be surprised by people…it does not come easily. It’s something to work for.

    1. You’re welcome, brother! Yes, I vaguely remember seeing it as a teen. I definitely viewed it as a comedy then. It would be different now, after hearing D.H.’s behind-the-scenes experience.

  2. Wow! Very powerful to hear him speak about it. Makes me want to see Tootsie again. He really is still very emotional about it.

    I know I am guilty of ignoring people whom I may stereotype for one reason or another. I agree with Lauren, how many amazing people have I missed because of my “personal preferences”. Lord, open my eyes!!

Leave a Reply

