We Ask Very Little of Him

I’m thankful on this Saturday morn for the reminder to go to my friend. Charles Spurgeon shares this in his devotional Morning and Evening:

“It is strange how little we use the spiritual blessings God gives us. But even stranger is how little we make use of God. Although he is “our own God,” we ask very little of Him.

How seldom we ask His counsel. How often we go about our business without seeking His guidance! How constantly we strive in our troubles to carry our burdens instead of casting them on the Lord, instead of asking Him to sustain us.

This is not because we may not, for the Lord seems to say, “I am yours, come and make use of me. Come freely to my store, and the more often you come the more welcome you are.” It is our own fault if we do not utilize the riches of our God.

Since you have such a friend and He invites you, take from Him every day…Let me urge you to make use of God. Make use of Him in prayer. Go to Him often because He is your God. Do not fail to use this privilege. Fly to Him. Tell Him your needs.

If some dark providence has clouded you, use God as a sun, and if a strong enemy is attacking, find in Jehovah a shield (Psalm 84:11). He is both a sun and a shield to His people. If you have lost your way in the mazes of life, use Him as a guide. He promises, “I will instruct you and teach you in the way you should go; I will guide you with My eye” (Psalm 32:8).”

4 thoughts on “We Ask Very Little of Him

  1. Mom mor and I needed to hear the exhortation from Spurgeon. It was what we needed on this Saturday afternoon.

  2. I needed this, too! I definitely struggle with the false god of self-sufficiency, and I desperately need the help of my loving, protector God and Savior. Sigh. Really, this struck right to the core. Thank you for sifting through your texts for gold to share with us like this text.

    1. I struggle with thinking I’m self-sufficient too, sis. I like Spurgeon’s phrase , “Fly to him.” It’s vivid and succinct. It also has a great urgency to it, which is good for me!

Leave a Reply

