Occasionally One or Two

Last Sunday, City Church featured this photo paired with the following quote on the cover of our bulletin. I’m not sure if the artist, Jeremy Mangan, was referring to the church community when he painted this, but it couldn’t seem more spot on. I found myself thinking about this painting several times this week, so up on the blog it goes!! What a powerful picture of the invisible reality of the Church in process.

The story’s in the title: “Occasionally One or Two Get Out, But They Never Go Far.”

“In friendship…we think we have chosen our peers. In reality a few years’ difference in the dates of our births, a few more miles between certain houses, the choice of one university instead of another…the accident of a topic being raised or not raised at a first meeting–any of these chances might have kept us apart. But, for a Christian, there are, strictly speaking no chances. A secret master of ceremonies has been at work. Christ, who said to the disciples, “Ye have not chosen me, but I have chosen you,” can truly say to every group of Christian friends, “Ye have not chosen one another but I have chosen you for one another.” The friendship is not a reward for our discriminating and good taste in finding one another out. It is the instrument by which God reveals to each of us the beauties of others.”

-C.S. Lewis, The Four Loves

(linking up at sewmanyways and morganharpernichols)

6 thoughts on “Occasionally One or Two

  1. Great art and great quote…tell me what you think it means when it says occasionally one or two get out but don’t go far…I’m trying to wrap my mind around it. Meaning, once you are a body of believers, always a body of believers even though some may wander?

  2. I’m not quite sure what it means. I think I like the image of what the church looks like (bright sparklers together)! And there is protection and boundaries like how Paul describes the church in the NT. But as far as the two “getting out,” I think it may reference the stumbling, wayward, prone-to-wander-ness of humanity. Would love to hear more thoughts though…it’s definitely a provocative (in a good way) painting!

    1. Yes, I hope others respond, too…to get more perspectives. Yes, it’s provocative in a good way!! Can’t wait to see more posts from you. I’ve been yearning for some more!! Love and Hugs!!

        1. Well your posts encourage me, too!! God has chosen you to co-direct Fiddler! He will give you great wisdom and strength tonight as you direct under HIS direction!! xxoo

Leave a Reply

