His Sustained Initiative

It shakes the foundations of my world when I try to grasp the concept that God chooses to continue to pursue me. And not just as his “property” (which he could rightly do), but as his loved one. Who am I? For one, I am his friend.

What matters supremely, therefore, is not, in the last analysis, the fact that I know God, but the larger fact which underlies it—the fact that He knows me. I am graven on the palms of His hands. I am never out of His mind. All my knowledge of Him depends on His sustained initiative in knowing me. I know Him, because He first knew me, and continues to know me. He knows me as a friend, one who loves me, and there is no moment when His eye is off me, or His attention distracted from me, and no moment therefore, when His care falters.

-J.I. Packer, Knowing God

4 thoughts on “His Sustained Initiative

  1. I love the portion Mom was drawn to…I really appreciated the reminder that “I know Him, because He first new me.” Before I was created in my mother’s womb, He knew me. Of course, I can trust a God for whom this is true!

    (Great post title, b.t.w.) Love you, sistah.

Leave a Reply

