Angry Cars

I was walking down a street in Philly the other day when I passed some little boys hanging out in front of their house on skateboards.  They were oblivious to anyone else except their motley crew.  One of them who was on the outskirts, zoomed into the middle of the group and said, “Hey, have any of you ever noticed that cars look angry?  Hey, guys, guys, no really.  Look, it’s like they have a nose, two eyes, and a mouth…”

None of the other boys seemed to find it interesting.  But I did.  It reminded me of my childhood when I would attribute a human likeness to inanimate objects (my dresser looked like it had a face).  And why did those faces often seem so menacing?  Was I working out my childhood fears?  Now my fears come out differently, more in my thoughts and attitude.  I’m working in Christ to not live under any fear, whether it be thoughts or inanimate objects!  “For God has not given us a spirit of fear and timidity, but of power, love, and self-discipline.” 2 Timothy 1:7

3 thoughts on “Angry Cars

  1. Sigh, to be able to see the world through the eyes of a child. Some of the best writers are able to do this & it brings an awesome joy & feeling of wonder to the worlds they create.

  2. Thanks for reminding us of the IMAGE-gination that children have, that we should never stop having…! And the reminder that fear is not from God, but rather what is available from God are power, love, and self-discipline. Glad you got to Philly and were able to hear that conversation!

Leave a Reply

