I’ll Miss Swiss

Edith Schaffer writes the story of L’Abri in her book of that title. When reading the Bible one day and praying about their next move, she came upon this passage:

“And it shall come to pass in the last days, that the mountain of the Lord’s house shall be established in the top of the mountains, and shall be exalted above the hills; and all nations shall flow unto it.  And many people shall go and say, Come ye, and let us go up to the mountain of the Lord, to the house of the God of Jacob; and he will teach of us his ways, and we will walk in his paths. (Is. 2:2). My feeling was one of excitement. I read it over again, and then again…then reached for my pencil and wrote in the margin- Jan. ’55, promise. Yes, L’Abri…”

then later she pens…

“God has brought us to this little village, at 3,100 feet altitude, to have a chalet which would be L’Abri, or The Shelter: not as a place to come to for evenings as we had pictured at Champery, but as a place to come and stay, for a weekend or for a few days, as one would come to an open home as a guest; with time to ask questions and consider the answers during walks in the mountains , times around the meal tables, or informal moments in the kitchen.”

Francis and Edith Schaeffer.  Founders of L’Abri Fellowship.

And almost 60 years later, here I am.  A part of this community.  Thankful for what’s been, and looking forward to what’s to come.  As for my final days here, we finish out this week as normal.  Sunday night is our last meal together.  Afterwards, there’s a “talent show” in the lounge.  I’m planning to sign up for a performance slot, but I’m useless for ideas right now.  Will suggested I do a dramatic reading of Puck’s epilogue from A Midsummer’s Night’s Dream.  But I just read it and it doesn’t seem to fit the occasion.

In case you were wondering, here’s my itinerary for the next week: Everyone leaves on Monday except the workers, the helpers, Alex, and me.  Alex and I are part of the “deep cleaning” team.  We asked if we could stay since our flights are on December 10th, 4 days after the term ends.  On Monday we’ll clean all day, and then the following days we’ll work 3 hours and have the rest of the time to study, travel, etc.  And then on Friday, Alex and I fly back to New York.  He’s coming to meet the family and friends!  Yessssssss!  Watch out New York for Alex Cook.  He’s the bee’s knees.

So, farewell L’Abri.  For now.

Fyi, I hope to continue blogging post-L’Abri.  I can’t promise I’ll be a frequent poster, but I will be faithful.  It’s helpful to be able to communicate to my loved ones all at once.  Although, I’ll never let it replace those one-on-one dates with you individually.  I’ll be home in a week-ish.  Cwall me, we’ll twalk, we’ll do cawfee!

6 thoughts on “I’ll Miss Swiss

  1. Such a beautiful window into your last two weeks at L’Abri, starting with Edith’s vision from the Lord of why they should settle there in the mountains! Soak up the beauty, the cow-bells, the friendships, the moments for learning…and we’ll TALK over CAWFEE when you get home!
    Can’t wait to hug you and meet Alex!!

  2. Lisbeth: You’ve been missed more than you realize! The red carpet (Xmas) will be out for your return cawse we love you. Pop pop and Mor mor

  3. Lisbeth, how wonderful and exciting that Alex is flying home with you! I am so happy that your extended stay in Swiss. It worked out in such a marvelous way! I remember you telling me about when you chose the 10th and said “we’ll see what happens,” and here we are seeing what happens! You get to be with Alex longer and take him home to meet the rents and other loved ones =). Man I wish we could fly up for a visit, but we’ll see you and meet him soon! Sigh. I really enjoyed this post. Thanks for sharing sweet friend. I look forward to talking soon, but take your time and enjoy all the time you can with fam and Alex. We’ll talk when life calms a bit. How long is he able to stay in NY with you?
    Oh and I know you’ll come up with a great idea for the talent show. Let us know what you choose to do! =)

    You are dearly loved and dearly missed.
    Rachel

  4. Lisbeth! How quickly the time goes! I can’t believe that you’ve already left Switzerland and are back in NY! I hope that the visit with Alex and your family went (slash is going?) wonderfully! I know if you guys go separate ways post Christmas (Gio said he lives in the south?) it’ll be tough on you – but it can be done! I hope that the beginning of that kind of relationship is a smooth transition for you both.

    I wish I could come see you, but Joe and I are racing around the northeast trying to get in all of our families in about 2.5 weeks, but once I’m no longer on the move I’ll have to give you a call and we can have a nice long chat to catch up.

    Love you, girl! Happy Christmas!

  5. Hi Lisbeth!
    So this may seem really random as I don’t know you at all, but I am going to Swiss L’Abri for the Fall 2011 term and I was searching online for anything that might help me prepare and I found your blog. I was just wondering if I could email you a couple questions about your experience there, what you brought, etc. Thanks!
    ~Leigh

Leave a Reply

