A Huemoz Bonjour

Bonjour from Swiss L’Abri!  Yes, I have arrived.  Spiritually, that is.  Just kidding…if anything, I’ve come to realize there’s so much I don’t know, and that expecting “arrival” is unrealistic.  But I do expect to move forward in my journey.  Before I get into that, here’s a general schedule of a normal day here:

8am- Breakfast (Usually granola, bircher muesli, and COFFEE!!!!)

9:30am- Work/Study time

11am- Tea break (By then my stomach is usually screaming at me)

1pm- Lunch at one of the 4 chalets (I’ve currently made 4 meals in 1 week)

3pm- Work/Study time

6:30pm- Dinner

Post dinner- Hangout time in the lounge.  It can entail anything from charades, chess, taboo, cards (hearts/kings in the corner), impromptu prayer times, spontaneous musical singing, etc.  Wednesday nights are movie nights.  I appreciate that all laptops are packed away during the week, otherwise we’d probably be sitting on couches with them, going on Facebook and sharing YouTube videos.  Not that there’s anything wrong with that, but without them conversations about the role of man and the role of the Creator in Art history are more possible.

Speaking about conversations and what I’m studying…I originally came with a list of topics to pick apart.  However, within the first 10 minutes of meeting my tutor she named several huge issues that have followed me around since I can remember.  Issues I hadn’t planned on studying because I thought I was “done” with them.  She picked out my identity problem, my perfectionism, and my difficulty with forgiveness, like that (SNAP)!  So now I’m studying those topics, as I should.  I’ve been reading “Beyond Identity” by Dick Keyes.  And it’s definitely convicting.  One image that totally screams “Lisbeth” is an image of a bird: “Motivated by fear and anxiety they [those with a weak sense of identity] are like a baby bird in a nest with a huge open mouth pointed to the sky shouting ‘feed me!’ ‘make me feel like a person!'”  Yep, I’m working on not being that bird anymore.

Before I sign off, I would be remiss in mentioning THE MOUNTAINS.  It’s unreal here.  This is when I feel the poverty of words.  The mountains are camped right outside my room.  I open the doors of my chalet, step out onto the balcony and see a mountainous green expanse before me.  It’s like I’m in a painting.  When I spoke to my mom on the phone and she asked, “Do you miss the Ocean yet?”, referring to Ocean Grove, I had to admit, “Nope.  Not yet.”

Again, I’ll try to update as much as I can.

Love to all.  Au revoir!

Lisbeth

8 thoughts on “A Huemoz Bonjour

  1. My sister in Christ, The Zone misses you dearly as do I. Sorry we did not get together over the summer but when you come back to New York we shall. Prayers for you and love to you.

  2. I like to think that YOU are responsible for bring “Kings in the Corner” and the spontaneous musical singing to L’Abri. Mark and I looked up your location on google earth recently; I had no idea how close you were to Italy! Do you think you’ll swing over there for a visit sometime? Thanks for these glimpses into your life over yonder. We miss you, but this is clearly where you should be right now. Favorite line in this entry: “This is when I feel the poverty of words.” My sister is such an amazing writer.

    1. Indeed! During our mid-term break in October, I’m going to Italy with a couple peeps. We’re thinking 1 day in Rome, and then splitting up the other days between Venice and Florence. And perhaps exploring the Italian countryside…Chinquaterra?? I’ll keep you posted.

      1. That trip sounds glorious! I think going to Rome first really impacts the rest of your travels around Italy and anywhere in Europe really. There is so much Roman history wherever you go! Those locations are def the elite choices and I so wish I could join you! =)

  3. OH, my dear! How i miss you….let me count the ways. I agree with Lauren wholeheartedly that you are likely the one instigating the spontaneous singing– I wish so much I could be there to do a rendition of “the brown sugar stands alone” (or if they were a particularly open group- Gnoma Lisa) with you…. Blessings on your time there, friend! I’ll be here eagerly awaiting more news from your mountainside chalet…:)

    1. Abby, I just lol’d at remembering “Gnoma Lisa.” I tried explaining it to Mark, but didn’t do Gnoma justice. If only I could get my hands on that treasured video…

  4. My dear Lisbeth,
    what a beautiful entry! you’re writing captivated me. I agree with Lauren, my favorite line is “this is when i feel the poverty of words.” I think it should be a lyric:) I’m so happy that you have this opportunity to pursue God and deepen your self-understanding without distraction. Blessings!

  5. My Dearest Lisbeth,

    I am so happy to read your words and get an idea of your day to day life! I think your tutor is awesome and that’s so great that you connected so instantly. I am adding your book to my reading list =) I love you deary and I am soooo extremely happy for you!!

Leave a Reply

